Board Certified
Best Law Firms
Super Lawyers
Avvo Rating - 10
Dallas Bar Association
Best Employment Lawyers in Dallas

Minimum Wage Lawyers Serving Austin

Our Unpaid Wage Attorneys Fight To Enforce Minimum Wage LawsThe unpaid wage lawyers at Rob Wiley, P.C. represent employees in disputes with their employers because they were not paid the minimum wage. If you are not paid the minimum wage, contact our minimum attorneys today.

What is the Federal Minimum Wage?The federal minimum wage is $7.25 an hour. Some states and cities require that a higher wage be paid. However, Texas is not one of those states.  In Texas, the minimum wage is $7.25 an hour.  However, if you work more than forty hours a week, your employer will owed you the appropriate overtime rate.

Wage laws are complicated.  Contact our minimum wage lawyers if you employer is not paying you correctly.

What are some of common minimum wage violations?Employers often make mistakes in paying employees.  For example, an employer may not pay an employee for all the hours worked or fail to pay the correct overtime rate.  Additionally, some employers will hire commission only employees and fail to pay them minimum wage. Federal law also requires employers to pay hourly employees at least twice a month.

Federal law mandates how employees should be paid, not the employer.  If you have not being paid correctly, contact our minimum wage lawyers today.

What is the Minimum Wage for Workers Who Receive Tips?The minimum wage for tipped employees in $7.25 per hour. However, an employer may take a tip credit when paying tipped employees.  This means that employers may pay tipped employees $2.13 per hour.  However, if a tipped employee is paid $2.13 an hour in direct wages, the employee's tips plus the $2.13 an hour paid by the employer must equal the minimum wage.

Using the tip credit to meet the minimum wage requirements is a privilege, not a right. An employer must strictly comply with all regulations regarding the tip credit or the employer loses the tip credit. If an employer loses the tip credit, the employer must go back and pay the $5.12 difference (for a total of $7.25 an hour) for every hour worked by the employee in the past two or three years. Additionally, in many cases, the employer must pay a penalty equal to the amount owed.

Contact Our Employment Lawyers ImmediatelyThere are often short time periods in which an employee must bring a claim against an employer.  If you believe you have a claim for minimum wages, please contact an employment attorney immediately.
Client Reviews
Mr. Wiley thoroughly reviews my documents and gave me great advise and put my mind at ease at a touch time. Easy to schedule and great office staff. A.S.
Honestly in providing options for cost/benefit of moving forward with litigation. Provided insight into Texas and Federal laws and how they would or would not apply. C.H.